Getting Back into the Swing

It’s been a month since I got back to Bohol, a year since I arrived in the Philippines, and it’s been a busy couple of weeks. Things are really heating up at both of my jobs, so I’ve been doing a lot of facilitating. I recently had my first meeting of the semester with the ESGP-PA students at the University. I will begin leading evening sessions with them every-other week (starting this coming Thursday) on topics ranging from “Goal Setting and Planning for the Future” to “Leadership Skills”. We also had a brainstorming session for other activities, and they came up with a number of ideas including; mangrove planting, a youth facilitator training, and tutoring elementary students. All of the grantees are beginning their final year of college, so this will be a busy year if we manage to do half of the things they have in mind.

Last weekend I met some fellow Volunteers in the city for lunch at the Buzzz Cafe and decided to spend the night because it was a three day weekend. I went out to a videoke bar with my counterpart, Jovie, and we sang the night away (see Facebook for an example of Jovie’s amazing voice).

Monday evening I made my way back to site and played with Cooper and the puppies (“Blacky” and “Whitey”).

Wednesday through Friday I returned to the high school to conduct Youth Development Sessions. Over three days I lead about 400 students in various activities, including pictionary, skits, and a body scan. We explored emotions, how they change in adolescence, and practiced controlling our emotions when they get out of hand.

July brings more ESGP-PA sessions and YDS, so I’ve got a lot of planning to do. I also get to help train the new batch of Volunteers in the last week of July, so I look forward to traveling back to Bataan in a few short weeks.

Author: determinedwandererblog

Peace Corps Volunteer serving in the Philippines

Leave a Reply

