The Beauties of Candijay – Year 3 : Week 8

November 12, 2016

Two years ago on a Saturday in November I joined my fellow members of the Municipal Action Team (MAT) for a team-building activity.  Balay sa Kabos Foundation, a local organization that builds houses on the weekend had came to Candijay, so we joined them to build a couple of houses in a green and field-y part of the town. Both of the houses were for low income families who had had their houses severely damaged in the last typhoon. I biked out in to the country to join everyone else (who had ridden on motorcycles. We all worked side-by-side to erect the two houses in just a single day, but it was easy to accomplish with over thirty people working together.

In between pounding nails, I ran in to this very beautiful carabao (water buffalo) , who loved having her picture taken. I would take two photos, and then she would change position, just like she was posing.

 

November 10, 2018

This past Saturday, some other Volunteers joined me and Jovie for a trip to Can-Umantad Falls and the Cadapdapan Rice Terraces in the mountains of Candijay. Even with a late start and a lot of rain, we had a good time and enjoyed our hike and swim while taking a lot of photos.

That’s all for this week. I’ll be traveling next weekend, so I’m not sure if I’ll have time to write, but I’ll try to get something up.

Author: determinedwandererblog

Peace Corps Volunteer serving in the Philippines

Leave a comment